Pavlof Daily Update issued Jun 5, 2014 12:30 Volcano Alert Level WATCH - Aviation Color Code ORANGE

The eruption of Pavlof Volcano continues. Two energetic events were recorded in seismic data early this morning (10:05 and 10:45 UTC; 02:05 and 02:45 AKDT) at Pavlof; a third somewhat less energetic event occurred at 16:44 UTC (08:44 AKDT). During the first two events, lightning was detected by the World Wide Lightning Location Network indicating the presence of ash. Satellite images indicated no ash above the meteorological cloud tops determined to be at about 28,000 ft. ASL. Winds were to the west-southwest. These events were likely large collapses of accumulated spatter around the …

Source: Volcanoes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *